Saturday, 30 April 2011

Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift get CMT Nods, Jason Aldean leads

The CMT Awards are on their way and the nominations have been revealed. The nominees were revealed on NBC's Today on Wednesday morning and the online fan voting in all 10 of the awards categories is open until June 7. The show will be taking place in Nashville, Tennessee, the heart and soul of country music, on June 8.

Leading the pack is Jason Aldean, with four nominations to his name. Other nominations include The Band Perry, Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Rascal Flatts, Taylor Swift and Zac Brown Band who earned themselves three nominations apiece. Kenny Chesney, Sugarland and Carrie Underwood earned two nominations. All of these seven artists are in the running in the top category for video of the year.

Surprisingly, Justin Bieber seems to be at every award show as he has landed a CMT Award nod for his reworked version of “That Should Be Me” featuring country duo Rascal Flatts. He faces though competition against Jason Aldean with Kelly Clarkson for their Billboard top 40 hit "Don't You Wanna Stay," Kid Rock featuring Sheryl Crow for "Collide," Aaron Lewis featuring George Jones and Charlie Daniels for "Country Boy" and Loretta Lynn, Miranda Lambert and Sheryl Crow for "Coal Miner's Daughter" in the Collaborative Video of the Year category.

Taylor Swift also gets three nods for her “Mine” video, which includes Bes Web Video of the Year (which is for her Speak Now album release party), Female Video of the Year and Video of the Year. Carrie Underwood is also nominated for two awards, facing off against Swift in the Female Video of the Year and Video of the Year categories with her video for "Undo It." This should really be interesting to see who gets the awards; we all know how huge Taylor’s fan base is.

Interesting enough, Adele, Train and John Mayer are also up for CMT Performance of the Year for their collaborations with Darius Rucker, Martina McBride and Keith Urban. They're up against Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett and Reba.  

All the artists in the Best Video Category is  Jason Aldean's My Kinda Party, Kenny Chesney's The Boys of Fall, Lady Antebellum's Hello World, Miranda Lambert's The House That Built Me, Rascal Flatts' Why Wait, Sugarland's Stuck Like Glue, Taylor Swift's Mine, the Band Perry's If I Die Young, Carrie Underwood's Undo It and Zac Brown Band's Colder Weather.

Fans can go to the CMT website to vote online for their favourite artist.

Sources: [Sheknows] [] []

No comments:

Post a Comment